An herb spiral

I’ve loved seeing the green growing taking place everywhere as spring finally explodes in this part of Maine.  Only to come back to our clearing where an entirely different sort of growing is happening:  piles of rock, milled boards, firewood stacks…

2013_May04 051

I desperately needed something green.  Thankfully my mother-in-law came to the rescue with potted herbs for Mother’s Day.  We planned to plant them that day, but the heavy rain kept us in for a yurt-sized tea party instead.

2013_May04 023

Being a 9-5 working woman, there isn’t a lot of time left for gardening other than weekends.  Knowing the next weekend would also be my next Permaculture Design Course gathering, meaning no time for home gardening, I opted for some mid-week early morning pajama gardening to put in an herb spiral…

2013_May04 064

2013_May04 066

2013_May04 067

2013_May04 068

2013_May04 070

2013_May04 075

2013_May04 080

2013_May04 082

2013_May04 092

It took about 2 hours, and came together quite easily with the materials around here – a hollow cedar log, soil gathered from around tree stumps and boulders, and rocks, of which Caden informs me we used exactly 32 (leaving something like 4,962 left to figure out what to do with).

The next night the rain was pummeling the yurt roof and I worried that our not-yet-firmly-rooted new patch of green might be done in already.  But thankfully we went out to see it actually just perked up with the thorough watering.

2013_May05 007

Amazing how a bit of edible green outside one’s front door can put everything in balance again.  I’m imagining the deer thinking the same thing…must figure out fencing…

7 thoughts on “An herb spiral

    • And can I add that I was giggling to myself because I am a rock COLLECTOR, always worried that there aren’t enough… At our previous house when AnaSofia was teenie we would go for walks to the lake and I would carry back a rock or two in the stroller to put around my many gardens until I had a border around all of them. Here I am always searching for rocks to use too and can’t find many… It is all in the perspective! By the way, I saw gorgeous raised beds recently done all in stone rather than wood… You will find purpose for those 4000+ rocks!

      • I love picturing you doing this. And such a good reminder because I hoarded rocks at our last home for the gardens there. Thank you for pointing out the giant plus side of never having to feel rock deficient again. But don’t be surprised if a 3 ton boulder ends up in the back of your car next time…

  1. Melanie. I love your herb spiral. Is there method to which plant goes where in the spiral? I’ve been thinking of trying this and am definitely more enthused having seen how nice it can look!

    • Wonderful! There is some method to the plant placing to take advantage of the different microclimates around the spiral. Like parsley and chives will do better in the slightly shadier and moister back north side. Rosemary, lavender, sage, thyme, oregano do well higher up and/or in the front of the spiral because they are more drought tolerant and sun-loving. Rosemary & lavender also do well placed high in the spiral because it allows space for their deep roots.

Leave a Reply

