The end of a trail – the wooden yurt

I’ve thought to write a post several times since we finished the yurt building last month, but had so much swirling through me that I didn’t know how to get it all out or how to even begin to share the experiences.  I’d love to walk you through exactly what the yurt building workshops were like, the learning, the relationships, weathering the weather, the firesides, the eating and connecting around tables, the emotions, the comradery, etc.  But I’m taking a wise friend’s advice to not try to get my head around it all right now, and rather let the layers of it compost within to continue processing it in a different way.  And that’s just what I’m doing.

BUT, I do want to share and to remember and to revisit those days, so thankfully there are pictures…

Now she’s closed up for winter, waiting for some future point when a roof will be put on, windows placed in, first floor boards put down, a heat source put in, finish work (enough) finished, and a family moved in…  In the meantime, we’re taking a moment to breathe and soaking up the realization of what this community of people did.  That a year after we were mourning Bill Coperthwaite’s passing, we’re standing inside of what at that time was just his drawing on a paper…

2013_Aug01 240

It’s been said that this yurt building was a bridge, a carrying on of Bill’s work into a future without him.  Last year we felt the loss of him in this world deeply.  This year we’re feeling the hope of a world, of the many people, who carry on what Bill and those who came before inspired.  Here’s to hope.

9 thoughts on “The end of a trail – the wooden yurt

  1. I can see how it would be difficult to put this experience into words – but you did well! The photo’s do speak for themselves and their voice is the fabric from which your house is built. I admire your accomplishments in bringing together such a wonderful group of people to create this beautiful living space. It is difficult to decide, but I think my favorite photo is the dinner in the new yurt!

  2. This is amazing! I’m happy to have been a part of the first round of building back in August. Sadly, I was unable to return in October to see the completion. Once winter passes, and warmth returns, it will be lovely to see the final pieces come into place, as it becomes “move-in ready” and a new home for your family. It was especially nice to see those images showing your own children participating in the creation of their future home.

  3. Ooooh… So much whispers out from each one of those photographs. I noticed taking photos and now seeing them how the yurt really is filled with its own light, the light inside of it is just B E A U T I F U L. My favorite photo is the four of you in front, the kids in their hats. Aria’s spunk and Caden’s sweetness shine through. Love them all!

  4. Wow! This looks amazing, great work! Truly inspiring. I have been waiting for this , and can understand why you need to set back and gather your thoughts…I now have an understanding of what Josh meant this summer the last time we spoke.

  5. I have SO enjoyed following your sweet family’s journey “in the round.” What a beautiful place to call home! I know you can hardly wait to complete it. I’ll continue watching with much interest. A very Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family!

  6. Hello! We are a fellow yurt dwelling family 😀 We live in NZ and have been in our yurt for almost a year- many more to come, I hope!
    Democratic architecture at its most simple 😀
    Peace to you x

  7. I loved all of the photos – I was waiting anxiously to see how things had gone…. It looks amazing !! What an incredible year it has been. Looking forward to future posts….xooxoo alison

  8. Pingback: Closing in | Circle In

Leave a Reply

